Travel to Mpumalanga


With the December holidays just around the corner, time is of the essence to make your booking and secure your sunshine vacation in the province of paradise country. Whether you are planning a self-drive road trip or a fly in alternative, the Mpumalanga Tourism and Parks Agency shares a few need to know details about the province of Mpumalanga.


Where are we?

Located in eastern South Africa the province of Mpumalanga is roughly;

  • 267,6 km via N4 from Pretoria

2 h 59 min by Car


  • 294,3 km via N12 and N4 from Johannesburg

3 h 18 min by car

45 minutes by Air


  • 651,3 km via N3 and N11 from Durban Central

7 h 36 min by car

1 hour by air


  • 1 702,3 km via N1 from Cape Town

17 h 17 min by Car

1 hour and 55 minute by air



Regions Making up Mpumalanga


Cultural Heartland

Famous for the indigenous Ndebele tribe, Mpumalanga’s Cultural Heartland is made up of towns including; Clewer, eMalahleni, Kendal, Kraanspoort, Marble Hall, Middelburg, Ogies, Rooikraal, Roossenekal, Stoffberg and Witbank.


The Panorama

Home to some of the most striking natural wonders native to South Africa, the Panorama encompasses; Graskop, Hazyview, Hendriksdal, Kiepersol, Lydenburg (Mashishing), Ohrigstad, Pilgrim's Rest and Sabie.


The Kruger National Park

World-renowned Kruger National Park offers a wildlife experience that ranks with the best in Africa.

Main camps located in the park include; Berg-en-Dal Rest Camp, Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp, Letaba Rest Camp, Lower Sabie Rest Camp, Mopani Rest Camp, Olifants Rest Camp, Orpen Rest Camp, Pretoriuskop Rest Camp, Punda Maria Rest Camp, Satara Rest Camp, Shingwedzi Rest Camp and Skukuza Rest Camp.


The Lowveld Legogote

With direct access to the Kruger National Park, Lowveld Legogote is considered Big 5 country and spans through the following towns; Kaapsehoop, Nelspruit and White River.


The Wild Frontier

Sharing its boarders with Mozambique and Swaziland when entering the Wild Frontier it is possible to visit 3 countries in 1 day. The Wild Frontier comprises of; Barberton, Hectorspruit, Kaapmuiden, Komatipoort, Low’s Creek and Malelane.


Cosmos Country

Represented by a sea of colour during summer months, Cosmos Country is named after its abundant blooms of Cosmos. Making up the area include towns such as; Balfour, Bethal, Delmas, Evander, Greylingstad, Kinross, Kriel, Leandra, Secunda, Standerton and Trichardt.


Grass and Wetlands

One of South Africa's most prized star gazing locations along with prolific birding, Mpumalanga's Grass and Wetlands include; Amersfoort, Amsterdam, eManzana, Breyten, Carolina, Chrissiesmeer, Ermelo, Hendrina, Morgenzon, Perdekop, Mkhondo, Volksrust and Wakkerstroom.


The Malaria Debate

While there are a number of regions in Mpumalanga that can be visited without the risk of Malaria, endemic in the Lowveld of Mpumalanga including the Kruger National Park and some of the neighbouring private game farms visitors to the Kruger National Park (but excluding Mbombela and surrounds) will need to take the necessary precautions against Malaria. Although Malaria may be considered a seasonal occurrence specifically during the rainy season between September and May and where January to April has been earmarked as being a period of high transmission although uncommon, infections can occur in between these periods whereby visitors should exercise preventative measures to ensure they are not infected.


Keep a look out for more details and top travel tips from the Mpumalanga Tourism and Parks Agency!

Related Articles

MTPA on Instagram

Follow Us