Provincial Parks of Mpumalanga

,

Picture your day starting with a beautiful sunrise, while sipping on a hot cup of coffee, as you decide where your day will take you in a gorgeous unspoilt setting, presented by mother nature. This is Mpumalanga, and these are our Provincial Parks.

Spoilt for choice in the Mpumalanga region, you’ll want to spend weeks exploring all the natural attractions on offer. Whether it’s canyons, or waterfalls you’re looking for, or long slow walks in the grasslands, or sitting by a dam with nothing but a book - Mpumalanga has it all.

Here’s a short guide on some of Mpumalanga’s most wonderful provincial parks.

 

  1. Andover

Andover is an unspoiled Nature Reserve, situated amidst the Kruger National Park, Sabi Sands and Timbavati Game Reserve Triangle. It epitomises the tranquillity that a person expects from an authentic bushveld experience.

For more information on Andover visit: our-provincial-parks/andover
 

  1. Barberton Nature Reserve

The Barberton Nature Reserve covers an area of 27 541 ha. The reserve is situated in an area of great landscape beauty and very high species diversity. These factors contribute to its conservation importance.

For more information on Barberton Nature Reserve visit: our-provincial-parks/barberton-nature-reserve
 

  1. Blyde River Canyon Nature Reserve

The Blyde River Canyon is the third largest canyon in the world 26 946 ha, after the Grand Canyon in the United States and the Fish River Canyon in Namibia, and is the largest 'green canyon' due to its lush subtropical foliage, with the deepest precipitous cliffs of any canyon on the planet.

 

For more information on Blyde River Canyon Nature Reserve visit: our-provincial-parks/blyde-river-canyon-nature-reserve
 

  1. Loskop Dam Nature Reserve

One of Mpumalanga’s most attractive reserves, Loskop Dam Nature Reserve covers an area of 23 612 ha and lies around the massive Loskop Dam on the Olifants River, 55km north of Middelburg in Mpumalanga.

For more information on Loskop Dam Nature Reserve visit: our-provincial-parks/loskop-dam-nature-reserve
 

  1. Manyeleti Nature Reserve

Manyeleti, meaning “place of stars” in the local Shangaan language, will reward you with a Big 5star bushveld experience. If you are an avid caravanner, a safari-hunger explorer or a family looking for an ‘off the beaten track’ holiday, Manyeleti Game Reserve will quench your appetite.

 

For more information on Manyeleti Nature Reserve visit: our-provincial-parks/manyeleti-nature-reserve
 

  1. Mkhombo Nature Reserve

Mkhombo is a large, 11 223 ha reserve, which is somewhat unique in that it conserves an easterly Kalahari thornveld environment around the shores of a large dam. This feature provides a wonderful variety of natural habitats across a relatively small area

For more information on Mkhombo Nature Reserve visit:

our-provincial-parks/mkhombo-nature-reserve

  1. Nooitgedacht Dam Nature Reserve

The Nooigedacht Dam Nature Reserve is 3 000 hectare in size and centrally located in the Highveld approximately 10km northwest of the town of Carolina. Numerous game species are to be found in the reserve, including the game species found in the reserve are Blesbuck, Springbuck, Black Wildebeest, Reds Hartebeest, Zebra, Reedbuck, oribi and recently introduced the buffalo.

For more information on Nooitgedacht Dam Nature Reserve visit: our-provincial-parks/nooitgedacht-dam-nature-reserve

  1. Ohrigstad Nature Reserve

A relatively small, 2536 hectare reserve, is situated in magnificent mountain scenery against the Drakensberg escarpment, on the R533, west of the historic mining village of Pilgrim Rest The reserve conserves a mountain environment in transition zone between the highlands and the lowveld around the Ohrigstad Dam.

For more information on Ohrigstad Nature Reserve visit: our-provincial-parks/ohrigstad-dam-nature-reserve

 

  1. Songimvelo Nature Reserve

The Songimvelo Nature Reserve is 48000 hectare, the largest provincial nature game reserve in Mpumalanga South Africa, and has a high diversity of plant and animal species, as well as the highest known plant diversity for the Mpumalanga Province.

For more information on Songimvelo Nature Reserve visit: our-provincial-parks/songimvelo-nature-reserve

 

  1. Verloren Vallei

The Verloren Vallei Nature Reserve is an internationally recognized wetland reserve with high biological diversity. This 6 000-hectare grassland reserve is located near Dullstroom.


For more information on
Verloren Vallei visit: our-provincial-parks/verloren-vallei
 

Related Articles





MTPA on Instagram



Follow Us